Biswarup Tarafder
 +91-98316-35023 ( Whatsapp )
Home   |  Telephonic Consultation   |  Jyotish Vedic Astrologer   |  Countries I Will Call You   |  Contact Us
Phone Consultation $100 for 45 min
7:00 am to 10:00 am PST

Magha – The Palanquin

Magha (0.00-13.20 Leo) is ruled by the Ancestors. It is the 10th nakshatra governed by Ketu, which is ruled by the Sun. Magha refers to Maghaban which is the cause of light and brightness.

Magha is also referred to as the Little King/Sun, and is denoted by the words ‘benevolent’, ‘bountiful’, ‘magnificent’ or ‘mighty’. This constellation is symbolized by the throne which is indicated by royalty, power, status and prestige.

Behavioral Characteristics

Magha refers to the words magnificent, master, mayor, magnanimous and magic. All of them indicate the functioning of Magha at one point or another. Magha aims at shaping the present with the help of the past. If a native has Magha in their astrological chart, they are bound to experience positive karma. It may translate into favors from those in positions of power, although the nature of the favors is sudden and impulsive.

The fierce element of Magha corresponds to Ketu that relates to the fierceness of the sun. As a ferocious planet, Ketu can be as violent in its intensity as the desert sun. On another plane, the sun is also associated with authority which can engender magnanimity and humility, or mercilessness and tyranny, leading to the natives being blinded by power. Magha is in fact a human asterism that fosters the humaneness of the esoteric Ketu.

In fact, Ketu is a planet that is known to detach one from earthly ties, although in this context, Ketu allows one to fulfill worldly duties. The native is hence conscious of their social standing, eminence and performance of duty, and in a negative context, it can lead to over ambition. On a higher reality, Magha displays a high capacity for idealism, even when it is surrounded by material wealth.

Magha helps in maintenance of nature through civilization and tradition. They have a royal demeanor and have lion-like appearances. Magha represents ‘tyaga shepani shakti’ which refers to the ability to sever ties with the object.

Padas or Quarters

 The first pada falls on the Aries Navamsa which is ruled by Mars. It represents willpower. Here, the throne is secured after Ashlesha, the many headed serpent is slain. Qualities like leadership, self-assertion, idealism and courage are perfectly displayed.

The second pada falls on the Taurus Navamsa which is ruled by Venus. The quarter is reflected further by the king’s ascension to the secured throne. A highly ambitious pada, the emphasis here is on duty, materialistic organization and image. Planets here receive favors from superiors.

The third pada falls on the Gemini Navamsa which is ruled by Mercury. Related to the intellectual aspect, the throne is now secure and the king pursues art and other discourses from the scholars. The focus lies on knowledge and mental activities. Planets make the native succeed through group activity, although Magha, by nature, works alone.

The fourth pada falls on the Cancer Navamsa which is ruled by the Moon. It stands for Magha's penchant for ceremonies, ancestor worship, family pride and ritual. The ruler here is concerned with the wellness of his subjects, his family life and wants his child to keep the lineage going. Planets make the native derive pride from family, ancestors and charitable nature. Material prosperity is not projected and self-undoing may be on the cards.


Managers; administrators; royalty; people bestowing honors and knighthoods; people in high positions in government jobs; legends, aristocrats; bureaucrats; officials; people heading chosen professions; referees, judges, advocates; lawyers; magistrates; librarians; orators; politicians; performers; dramatists; historians; museum jobs; black magicians; exorcists; occultists; astrologers; genetic engineering experts; archaeologists; antique dealers; ancient knowledge researchers; documentary makers; lineage experts

Favorable Activities

Ceremonies requiring pompousness and grandness, public performances, parades, award functions, researching lineage, career strategies, past practices, upgrading to higher status and possessions, ancient knowledge, religious activities, settling disputes, seeking favors from people in authority

Unfavorable Activities

Lending, servile activities, planning for the future, technological processes


Magha natives are respectful towards elders. These natives should perform the shradha ceremony for their ancestors in the corresponding suitable tithi for receiving the blessings of their predecessors. They must worship the Goddess Kali or Lord Shiva and chant the root mantra “Om Gham” and “Om Ngam” 108 times during the lunar transition of this nakshatra to alleviate afflictions. Wearing royal colors like gold, red and yellow is also recommended. All important actions should correspond to the course of this constellation for best results.


In the words of Varahamihira, the lunar influence gives Magha wealth and luxury. They are also persevering and spiritual.


 Disclaimer : Results of this service may vary from person to person.














Astrology Articles
2016 2017
Rising Sign
Aries Leo
Sagittarius Taurus
Virgo Capricorn
Gemini Libra
Aquarius Cancer
Scorpio Pisces
Ashwini Magha
Moola Bharani
Poorvaphalguni Poorvashada
Krittika Uttharaphalguni
Uttharashada Rohini
Hastha Shravana
Mrigasira Chitra
Dhanishta Ardra
Swathi Sathabhisa
Punarvasu Vishakha
Poorvabhadrapada Pushya
Anuradha Uttarabhadrapada
Aslesha Jyeshta
1st 2nd
3rd 4th
5th 6th
7th 8th
9th 10th
11th 12th
Medical Astrology
Aries Taurus
Gemini Cancer
Leo Virgo
Libra Scorpio
Sagittarius Capricorn
Aquarius Pisces
Moon Signs
Moon In Aries Moon In Leo
Moon In Sagittarius Moon In Taurus
Moon In Virgo Moon In Capricorn
Moon In Gemini Moon In Libra
Moon In Aquarius Moon In Cancer
Moon In Scorpio Moon In Pisces
Astrology Planets
Sun Jupiter
Venus Moon
Saturn Rahu Ketu
Mars Mercury
Emerald Coral
Blue Sapphire Ruby
Gomedth Diamond
Cat's Eye Yellow Sapphire